Wednesday, October 10, 2007

Qui. Enter Atlas II Young Curators International Symposium SMAK Ghent

Qui. Enter Atlas II
Young Curators International Symposium

11 curators under 35 years old coming from all over the world, selected by 15 International Institutions as advisors, give their opinion on the theme ‘Art in the Landscape of the Media’

19 and 20 october 2007-10-05 From 9am until 17pm

Auditorium Filmplateau
Paddenhoek 3
9000 Ghent

Free entrance, but reservation is obligatory!
Contact for reservation
Thibaut Verhoeven
T +32 (0)9 240 76 26

Cecilia Alemani (Independent Curator, New York)
Craig Buckley (Independent Curator, New York)
Binna Choi (Curator BAK, Utrecht)
Sebastian Cichocki (Director Kronika, Bytom)
Ovul Durmusoglu (Independent Curator, Vienna/Istanbul)
Nav Haq (Curator Arnolfini, Bristol)
LATITUDES ( Independent Curators and Writers, Barcelona - Max Andrews and Mariana Cánepa Luna)
Tom Morton ( Curator and critic Cubitt Gallery, London)
Manuela Moscoso (Director los29enchufes, Madrid)
Huib Haye van der Werf (Advisor Visual arts for the Dutch Government)

Qui. Enter Atlas II is the second part of the symposium Qui. Enter Atlas, which was held in june 2007, at GAMEC (Galleria d’Arte Moderna e Contemporanea) in Bergamo, Italy.

In this colloquium, that was coproduced by GAMEC and S.M.A.K., 15 young international curators, selected by 15 international Art Institutions, discussed the theme ‘Art in the Landscape of the Media’. Mentor and ‘godmother’ during this sessions was the international renowned media-artist Dara Birnbaum.

For Qui. Enter Atlas part II, the young curators were asked again by S.M.A.K. and GAMEC to ‘formalise’ this discussion material from part 1, into a presentation of approximately 45 minutes about the topic ‘Art in the Landscape of the Media’, mixed with their own thoughts and opinions emerging from their daily practice as a young curator.

The detailed symposium programme with the presentations will be online soon.

Curated/Organised by:
Giacinto Di Pietrantonio and Alessandro Rabottini (Gamec, Bergamo)
Philippe Van Cauteren and Thibaut Verhoeven (S.M.A.K., Ghent)

No comments: